August 28, 2019 Board News

August 29th, 2019

School board chooses Chair and Vice chair

At their organizational meeting, the board elected Trustee Jennifer Tuininga to serve as Chair and Trustee Wendy Scinski as Vice chair.

“I am honoured to continue to serve as the board chair for PHPS. I have the pleasure of working with a strong and supportive board and senior administration team. We are committed to making decisions in the best interest of our students, staff and communities,” said Tuininga.

Vice chair Wendy Scinski said, “It is an honour to serve on the PHPS board of trustees as Vice chair for the upcoming school year. As a board we are committed to working diligently in advocating and supporting the work of staff to enable students in our division to have access to an excellent education.”

The Board also adopted the following areas of focus for the 2019-2020 school year:

  • Align policies and procedures with the new Education Act
  • Secure a service agreement for Alberta Distance Learning Centre
  • Consider the reality of shrinking reserves and declining enrolment as we await the provincial budget
  • Review of the number of trustees on the board

Gearing up for a fantastic year of learning!

August has been a busy month for the board and staff, as we prepare for the 2019-2020 school year. We are excited to welcome 53 new staff to the division. One of the areas of focus for the year will be on mental health and well being, specifically as it relates to two of the division’s education plan priorities — student-teacher relationships and support for staff.

As part of this focus, we are excited to welcome Dr. Jody Carrington to our staff opening day on August 30th. Dr. Carrington will work with staff on how we all play a role in creating a safe, welcoming, caring and respectful learning environment for ALL students.

See the board meeting agenda and minutes for more information.

The next school board meeting is at the PHPS Regional Office in Barrhead on Wednesday, September 11, 2019 starting at 9:30 a.m. Members of the public are welcome to attend.