Our Division

Pembina Hills School Division is a close-knit community where neighbors know neighbors and our staff know our students. We are very proud of the welcoming atmosphere in our community schools. We create positive learning environments where students are comfortable and safe and where parents are encouraged to be involved in their child’s education.

Together We Learn

Our mandate and purpose
Our mandate is to deliver an education program consistent with the Education Act.
Our purpose is to ensure the delivery of an excellent education to our students so they become ethical citizens who contribute to society.

We teach

  • 3,600 students in 16 community schools including two Hutterite Colony Schools and two outreach schools.
  • 550 full-time and 10,000 part-time school-aged students and adult students from within and beyond our borders, through our online school, Vista Virtual School

Our region
Our students live in the Town of Swan Hills, Woodlands County, the County of Barrhead, the Town of Barrhead, Westlock County, the Town of Westlock, the Village of Clyde, the south-eastern portion of the Big Lakes County and the southern portion of the M.D. of Lesser Slave River.

Pembina Hills School Division covers a total area of 8,287 square kilometers. View a PDF of the Division Map. (High Resolution)

Our history
Pembina Hills School Division is the result of a 1995 merger of three school boards: Westlock School Division No. 37, the County of Barrhead No. 11, and Swan Hills School District No. 5109.