Division News

Desiree Bozak receives the Exemplary Support Services Award

March 22nd, 2021

Desiree Bozak is a program assistant at Barrhead Composite High School (BCHS) and has been with Pembina Hills for over 18 years. All students are welcomed into her room with a smile. Students know they can count on her to answer their questions, find solutions to their problems and help them complete their courses online […]

Read more more

COVID-19 Cases in Barrhead Schools

March 19th, 2021

​​We are grateful to parents who have informed our school administration when they found out that their children had tested positive with COVID19. As of Friday March 19, we know that one (1) student at Barrhead Elementary School and five (5) students at Barrhead Composite High School have tested positive. Families of students who are […]

Read more more

March 17, 2021 Board Meeting News

March 18th, 2021

The March 17, 2021 board meeting was held at Regional Office in Barrhead. This article provides a brief summary of the meeting. Read the full agenda and minutes here.  2021-2022 busing fees approved Each year the board establishes transportation fees for: In-town busing Rural students accessing transportation to a school of choice Alternate sites for […]

Read more more

Camile DeZaeyer receives the Exemplary Support Services Award

March 15th, 2021

Camile DeZaeyer has worked in the Distribution Department at the Alberta Distance Learning Centre (ADLC) for over 8 years. Due to the pandemic, ADLC has seen an increased demand for student materials. Camile has gone above and beyond to see that resources are organized and expedited efficiently. He understands the importance of getting student learning […]

Read more more

Terry Kuyek receives the Exemplary Community Partner Award

March 10th, 2021

Terry Kuyek has been a community volunteer at Swan Hills School for over five years. Every day, Terry arrives at the school before students, as well as most of the staff, to assist with the breakfast program. Afterwards, he stays to clean up and to help with any other aspects of the program that may […]

Read more more

Danica Pyper-Raymond receives the Exemplary Teacher Award

March 8th, 2021

Danica Pyper-Raymond is a teacher at Barrhead Composite High School (BCHS) and has been with Pembina Hills for over 20 years. Danica has been instrumental in encouraging literacy among each person at BCHS. She created “BCHS Reads”, a program where anyone in the entire school can choose a book from a short list and be […]

Read more more